Where Am I Going?

Conformity is the enemy… Normal is just the worst thing anyone can attain to in my eyes. Yet why do 99% (myself included) conform???

Basically we construct our identities on the basis of attitudes towards us. We get ideas in our head as to what is the norm based on the people around us, its human nature, but that doesn’t mean its good for you. We’re particularly vulnerable to this at an early age as well (old people on the other hand just don’t give a shit). We’re fed gender stereo types on how a boy or girl is supposed to behave, it needs to stop. In my minds eye I can still see now the people who affected me the most with what they thought were harmless comments when I was growing up. In the end it starts to become a script of common comments and questions (a wearying, predictable and demoralizing script, probably written by Michael Bay). We all start as clean slates and slowly get bogged down by what we perceive we should be doing. It sounds cheezy (and by god it is), but the only person you should be living for is yourself ( I mean this figuratively not literally, if little ones depend on you, you should probably keep looking after them with food, shelter and such).

Why am I harping on then? Well, at the start of the year, when it is natural to reflect and evaluate your life (and don’t forget those sweet January blues), I made the startling revelation that for the first time ever, I do not have any big goals on the horizon. I’d done the education thing, I’d then got a good job, but what was next? Am I now destined to just continue working away forever (a wage slave to big Sam’s dollar)? What is my next big goal? What do I want to do with my life (DEEP)? It would be easy to now state the same old bullshit we’re fed by society; Conformist rubbish really. I usually then react by harping on about writing a book or creating a film, but I haven’t acted on it. So far I’ve been 99% inspiration 1% motivation… and 1% doesn’t get you far I tells ya. I think people would say I should now be looking to find a girl, settle down and create a family. I respond to that simply… why? Its kind of a well traveled path this whole western-european life thing isn’t it? If I’ve not got anything sorted out on my end, then why should I have kids? It would be ridiculous in my opinion. Maybe when I find the right person that will change, who knows? Or maybe I just have a reaaaaally bleak outlook (but we all know I have an incredibly sunny disposition)?

To add some kind of conviction to what I’m saying (to my ramblings). An example of we all should be doing is being set by none other than my uncle. He recently said that he wants to be a vicar, I really hope he does so as well. It is refreshing to see someone have such a clear goal to work towards. That is how you become successful, you aim for something, then you go and get it (he blogs as well at: http://stodges.wordpress.com go check it out).

Right I’m done, I hope some of this made sense to someone somewhere, in some reality maybe in the future or in the past depending on whether or not time is linear or not (who knows I’m not one to judge).

Philly OUT!

Featured image taken from: http://ripgal.wordpress.com/

One comment

  1. I think I like to play by the rule. However, one thing I set myself go forward is to never settle with whoever just because everyone does that. To create a family, to have kids. Nope, it’s not my goal even though everyone around me seems to need that. Anyway, I’m not against that notion but I believe that we don’t have to do something like that if we don’t want to. Throw away what society says because they never care if I don’t have a happy relationship.

Leave a Reply

